Friday, June 21, 2024
HomeULTIMATE SPORTSMagogo Shafiq And Alpha Ssali Make It To Uganda Hippos Final Squad...

Magogo Shafiq And Alpha Ssali Make It To Uganda Hippos Final Squad Heading To Egypt

L-R: Magogo Shafik And Alpha Ssali

Uganda Hippos (U20) head coach has named his final squad heading to Egypt for this years U20 AFCON tournament. The 25 men squad comprises of three goal keepers and 22 other field players.

The team is expected to fly out this evening (6pm) to Egypt, with a couple of friendly matches awaiting them having finished their last training on Friday at the MTN Omondi stadium Lugogo.

This year’s AFCON (U20) will take between February 19th to March 11th in Egypt with the Hippos placed in group B along side Congo Brazaville, Central African Republic and South Sudan.


Among the notable names that featured on the list is Magogo Shafik who is among the forwards and he’s currently at UPDF FC where he graduated to the senior team last year.

For starters, the 18 year old Magogo Shafik is a biological son to the current FUFA president Eng Moses Magogo Hashim who is also a CAF Executive Committee member as well as the Area Member of parliament for Budiope East.

Magogo Shafik

The other known name is Alpha Ssali who is among the Forwards and he’s doing his pro at Proline FC. Alpha is son to musician Moses Ssali alias Bebecool who is a top fan English Top flight club Arsenal.

Alpha Ssali

The others on the Squad include;


Abdul Magada (Gaddafi FC), Kamya Shamulan (Soltilo Bright Stars FC), and Oyo Delton (SC Villa)


Lukwago Haruna (KCCA FC), Opiru Justine (URA FC), Samson Kasozi (UPDF FC), Kakogwe Apollo (Wakiso Giants FC), Rogers Torach (Vipers SC), Umar Lutalo (SC Villa), Ibrahim Juma (Leganes CD, Spain)


Saidi Mayanja (KCCA FC), Frank Katongole (St Mary’s, Kitende), Isma Mugulusi (Makedonikos FC, Greece), Titus Ssematimba (Wakiso Giants FC), Travis Mutyaba (SC Villa), Mutebi Hakim (SC Villa), Ivan Irinimbabazi (Soltilo Bright Stars FC)


Rogers Mugisha (UPDF FC0, Kakande Patrick Jonah (Sc Villa), Issa Bugembe (Soltilo Bright Stars FC), Magogo Shafiq (UPDF FC), Dembe John Paul, (KCCA FC U20), Alpha Ssali (Proline FC), Emmanuel Mukisa (Kataka FC)


Leader of Delegation: Frank Ankunzire, Head Coach: Jackson Mayanja, Assistant Coach: Massa Simeon, Goalkeeping coach: Mubarak Kiberu, Fitness Coach: Kasule Noah, Team Manager: Mutyaba Bashir, Team Doctor: Gumisiriza Micheal Kamu, Physiotherapist: Kyasimire Darlian, Media Officer: Ronald Lusulire, Kits Manager: Bumpenje Frank, Videographer: Constant Ali

If you have a story in your community or an opinion article, let’s publish it. Send us an email via or WhatsApp +254797048150

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments

Jjemba Roger on VJ Junior arrested
nsubuga on VJ Junior arrested
Mabonga antony rei martins on VJ Junior arrested
Herbert on VJ Junior arrested
Herbert on VJ Junior arrested
Obidike Isaac on VJ Junior arrested
ocitti Sunday Welborn on Police Arrests People Power Coordinator